Thursday, March 25, 2010

The Eleven Emotional Stages of the Job Application Process

In order:

1. Hope

2. Fear

3. Shame

4. The belief that you don’t deserve a given job — or, really, nice things

5. Completely unfounded confidence that there’s no way you couldn’t get this job, since it was basically created with you in mind

6. Giddy joy

7. Snacky hunger

8. “Is this what I’m supposed to be doing with my life?”

9. The paranoid fear that Word’s spellcheck function has ceased to work and everything is misspelled and incorrectly punctuated

10. Momentary relief upon having sent off the application

11. More fear

No comments:

Post a Comment